Skip to main content

Vachier-Lagrave Beats Firouzja To Clinch Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix

GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave won the second Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix, formerly known as Titled Tuesday. The French grandmaster beat GM Alireza Firouzja in the final, an eight-player knockout held after 10 rounds of Swiss.

The next Speed Chess Championship Grand Prix will be played on June 16 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 19:00 Central Europe.

The second Speed Chess Grand Prix tournament was held on Tuesday, June 9. As a reminder, this weekly tournament replaces the old Titled Tuesday with a similar 10-round Swiss but now also with an eight-player knockout that follows. The prize fund has been increased to $2,500 a week as well as  Grand Prix points can be earned.